Canadian Citizenship Study Questions & Answers For the City of New Westminster

Current as of March 17, 2025

Who is the Head of State for Canada?

King Charles III

What is the name of the Governor General of Canada?

Mary Simon

Federal Politics

Name the federal political parties represented in the House of Commons and name their Leaders.

Liberal Party Mark Carney
Conservative Party Pierre Poilievre

Bloc Québécois Yves-François Blanchet

New Democratic Party Jagmeet Singh Green Party Elizabeth May

Which federal political party is in power?

The Liberal Party is in power federally.

What is the name of the Prime Minister of Canada and his/her party?

Mark Carney of the Liberal Party is the Prime Minister of Canada.

Which party is the Official Opposition at the federal level?

The Conservative Party is the Official Opposition at the federal level.

Name the federal electoral district in New Westminster, British Columbia.

New Westminster is in the New Westminster-Burnaby-Maillardville electoral district.

Name the Members of Parliament for New Westminster and the parties they belong to.

The Member of Parliament (MP) for New Westminster-Burnaby-Maillardville is Jake Sawatzky of the Liberal Party.

Find out who your MP is by entering your postal code on the Our Commons website: https://www.ourcommons.ca/Members/en/search

Provincial Politics

What is the name of the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia?

The Honourable Wendy Lisogar-Cocchia is the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia

Which political party is in power in British Columbia?

The New Democratic Party of British Columbia is in power in B.C.

What is the name of the Premier of British Columbia?

David Eby (New Democratic Party) is the Premier of B.C.

What is the name of the leader of the opposition in British Columbia?

John Rustad (Conservative) is the Leader of the Opposition in B.C.

Who is the leader of the Provincial Green Party?

Sonia Furstenau

Name the Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for New Westminster?

Jennifer Whiteside (NDP) is the MLA for New Westminster.

Find who your MLA is by entering your postal code on the Members of the Legislative Assembly website https://www.leg.bc.ca/learn-about-us/members

Municipal Politics

Who is the Mayor of your municipality - New Westminster, British Columbia?

Mayor Patrick Johnstone

Name the city councilors for New Westminster?

There are six New Westminster Councilors:

Ruby Campbell Daniel Fontaine
Jaimie McEvoy Nadine Nakagawa

Tasha Henderson Paul Minhas

The Voting age in Federal, Provincial and Municipal Elections is 18 years or older.