Library Hours and Locations

Regular Hours

MAIN BRANCH

 
Monday - Thursday
9:30 am - 9 pm

Friday & Saturday
9:30 am - 6 pm

Sunday (except holiday weekends)
12 - 5 pm

 

   

QUEENSBOROUGH

 

Monday-Friday
9 am-7 pm

Saturday
10 am-5 pm

Sunday
12pm – 5pm

 

 

 

NEW!!! Effective September 4 the Queensborough Branch hours have changed

due to the Main Branch renovations (approximately 8 months)

 

Holiday Hours in 2018
 

HOLIDAY

DAY

MAIN BRANCH

QUEENSBOROUGH

New Year's Day

Monday, January 1 CLOSED CLOSED

Family Day

Sunday, February 11

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, February 12

CLOSED

Open 9-1pm for special event

Good Friday

Friday, March 30

CLOSED

CLOSED

Easter Sunday

Sunday, April 1

CLOSED

CLOSED

Easter Monday

Monday, April 2

CLOSED

CLOSED

Victoria Day

Sunday, May 20

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, May 21

CLOSED

CLOSED

Canada Day

Sunday, July 1

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, July 2

CLOSED CLOSED

BC Day

Sunday, August 5

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, August 6

CLOSED

CLOSED

Labour Day

Sunday, September 2

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, September 3

CLOSED

CLOSED

Thanksgiving

Sunday, October 7

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, October 8

CLOSED

CLOSED

Remembrance Day

Sunday, November 11

CLOSED

CLOSED

 

Monday, November 12

CLOSED CLOSED

Christmas Day

Tuesday, December 25

CLOSED

CLOSED

Boxing Day

Wednesday, December 26

CLOSED

CLOSED

New Year's Day 2019 Tuesday, January 1, 2019 CLOSED CLOSED

 

Library Locations: 

Queensborough Branch



View Queensborough Branch - NWPL in a larger map

Main Branch
 


View Main Branch - NWPL in a larger map

 


Book Return Boxes:

City Hall
511 Royal Avenue
Mon: 8am - 7pm, Tue-Fri: 8am-5pm
Centennial Community Centre
65 East 6th Avenue

 

  • You said:
    > Your favourite time to use the library is 3 to 5pm on weekdays
    …and you also like 5 to 7pm
    > You want us to open at 9:00 am on some weekdays
    …especially Mondays
    > About 60% of you prefer Saturdays over Sundays
    …with afternoon preferred over morning
    > 62% of people found the current hours convenient
    …but 100% of people thought longer hours would be nice to have
    > Your age and whether or not you have kids didn’t affect your answers
    …your answers were remarkably similar across all ages and family sizes
     
     
    You love:
    > Our staff
    > Our kids programs
    > The location near you in Queensborough
    > The beautiful space and layout of the library
    > Placing a hold on a Main Branch item and having it come to you at Queensborough
    > The variety of books for adults and children
     
     
    Your wishlist:
    > A bigger selection of books and magazines for all ages
    > A larger space
    > Evening kids’ programs
    > Adult programs like reading clubs and knitting clubs
    > Added study space
     
     
    Your comments:
    “NW does an amazing job in library services. Great staff and an interesting collection which often surprises me most positively.”
    “Staff at the Queensborough Branch are doing a great job with the kids and have displayed great knowledge of their needs with several drop in sessions. Keep up the good work! Thank you for running our library so efficiently. Always a friendly atmosphere and calm, welcoming.”
    “Thank you for the great library with abundance of kids & baby books, some puzzles & lovely set-up. The staff is extremely friendly - they treat me & my family as friends.”
    “The librarians are great, very nice and friendly.”
    “We are glad to have the library in the area. We attend the library every week. Good selections.”