Board of Trustees:

Elaine Su (2021-current)

Co-Chair, Library Board
Policy Review, Facilities, Bursaries

Iris Cheng

Co-Chair, Library Board
Policy Review, Bursaries, Facilities, Evaluation

Samita Manhas

Policy Review, Bursaries, Evaluation

Carol Neuman

Committees: Policy Review, InterLINK Alternate, Evaluation

Vanessa Woznow

Committees: Policy Review, Facilities, Public Art, Evaluation

Nadine Nakagawa

City Council Representative

Norah Andrew

Committees: InterLINK Representative, Policy Review

Susan Buss

Acting Chief Librarian, Secretary to the Board

Library Board Meetings

The New Westminster Public Library Board meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month except July, August, and December. In these months meetings are only held at the call of the Chair. The meetings are at 6 pm and are held virtually via Zoom.

The 2023 Board meeting dates are:

Board Meetings are open to the public. Please contact the Chief Librarian at least 10 days prior to the meeting date to confirm meeting dates and times.

Become a Trustee

Regular appointments to the Board are by City Council at the time of appointments to all city committees, boards, and commissions. When a position is available on the Library Board, an announcement is made on the City Page, in the local newspaper and on other notice boards around the city and in the library. Positions are also posted on the Library’s own web site.

Board Members are usually selected on the basis of their knowledge, experience, and activity in the community. Residents who are interested in Board positions are required to complete an application form and return it to City Hall.

For more information on becoming a Trustee, please contact the Acting Chief Librarian.

The application period for 2024 appointments is open.
Library Board Information Session: A virtual information session will be held on October 11, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. Email to register.